P3 Update – Oscar Winners on Accepting the Ultimate Award

P3 Update – Oscar Winners on Accepting the Ultimate Award.

The Oscars this year were just the right blend of Hollywood sparkle and genuine, heartfelt speeches.

With Neil Patrick Harris leading the show through great humor and dazzling the audience with an opening number (featuring Anna Kendrick and Jack Black) focusing on the magic of moving images, the show offered a great sweep for Birdman, whichtook home four awards, including Best Picture. Variety caught up backstage with some of Hollywood’s top talent, capturing their words right after their wins.

J.K. Simmons, who took home the Best Supporting Actor award for his work on Whiplash, mentioned that he almost gave up several times as an actor early on. “I almost got back on the bus a handful of times, and if I’d had any reasonable options in terms of employment I probably would have,” he admitted. He also said that success is “definitely more tiring than the lean times. In the lean times you get lots of sleep.”

dt.common.streams.StreamServerBest Director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu (pictured left) of Birdman mentioned the importance of getting over fears. “I don’t have a career, I have a life and today I’m living it fully and beautifully and joyfully and completely,” he said. “I haven’t figured out why I did what I did in this film, why I took those chances. I think when you lose fear…fear is the condom of life. You know?”

Alexandre Desplat, who won for the Best Original Score on Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel, said that he’s been lucky to work with some fantastic directors.“This Oscar is just an Oscar, and the Oscar is the ultimate award a filmmaker can dream of. I guess that says it all,” he said. “I’ve been very, very fortunate these last years to work with incredible directors.”

Click here for full list of winners!

Leave a Reply

