No? Go Around


I constantly forget how difficult it is to feel vulnerable when your work is rejected. I forget because I’d rather not dwell on those emotions; however, when rejection comes around it becomes a steel box. Impenetrable and all consuming. I usually operate from a level of confidence that makes me feel invincible, until my work gets rejected. Recently a respected film festival did not accept one of my films for this year’s lineup. While the sting still burns, I have to remember that this obstacle is one of many and that perseverance is the name of the game. While there are stops signs everywhere, keep going and don’t stop. It’s ok to be vulnerable, pause and reflect, then run past the guard.

Leave a Reply

