ALLY Kristy

Get Engaged Media Center

Kristy, Orlando

kristyallyI was living in Los Angeles in 2008 when same-sex marriage became legal in California (the first time). I vividly remember my friend Mario coming to my office to tell me he could now get married if he chose to do so! I did not even know it was up for debate at the time, and was overjoyed for him and my other gay and lesbian friends living in California. Then, the Proposition 8 campaign started and used the majority of voters to take away the rights of a minority. The injustice in the legal and political system in California was glaringly obvious, and I was moved to join the fight. It made no to sense to me that I could get married, but my friends could not.

I joined Equality California and started becoming informed and taking action on LGBTQ+ civil rights issues. The more I learned…

View original post 197 more words

Leave a Reply

