Working With Clients

When an interested party comes to you for a service you provide, half the work has already been completed. They want something you offer. For 7 years I had a video production company and worked specifically one-to-one with clients. My pitch was that I would create a video based on their organization’s or individual needs. Many clients came from referrals, so it was just a matter of selling a contract. Being persuasive and enthusiastic about your work is your selling point. Showcasing your production “reel” is also my selling point because the clients wanted to see the quality of my work. Overall my experience in this area was fantastic and I understood a side of production that I didn’t before, which was the sales aspect. After working so many years in customer service oriented jobs, I had picked up skills on how to treat customers.

As a producer I have rented from vendors that offered film production gear. Many vendor experiences have been favorable experiences because we all share work in a small industry. Each other’s satisfaction is mutual and creates a spirit of respect. There was one company I had an issue with, which was a camera rental company. My crew had returned all the gear at the specified time to the vendor. I inspected the gear to see that it was in the same condition when we rented it. I even took pictures as a precaution. The agent who was our contact called back the next day to say that the gear was dirty and some items were missing. At this point as a producer, I have to worry about human resources issues, payroll and production operations. Worring about a vendor is the last thing I want to deal with. I returned to their place of business and began to discuss the issue. I showed proof of how the gear was when it left the set. They argued the point despite the proof and we ended up paying the fees. I never recommended or did business with this vendor again. Soon after the business was sold to another company.

I found the following article by Jack Knight on Freelance Switch to be insightful, funny and entertaining. The link was provided by my instructor Carol Cox at Full Sail University.
http://freelanceswitch.com/clients/12-breeds-of-client-and-how-to-work-with-them/

Leave a Reply

